All you need is a little Magic

“I cant do it mummy” Allie sobbed into my cardigan, I had to remember she was only 6 years old. She acts so grown up most of the time and with this difficult task ahead of her I should have realised it would be to much.

“Yes you can sweetheart, I need you to do this for me. Lets count down together 3….2…”

“NOOO, I can’t I am not as special as Cassie” Allie ran off to her bedroom with the tears streaming down her cheeks.

I finished the task myself feeling both disappointed and guilty that Allie didn’t do it with me. It may be months before we got another opportunity to complete the potion together.  Dragons spit is not the easiest ingredient to come by.

Walking to Allie’s bedroom I can see the smoke seeping under her bedroom door. I knew she would be practising, I slide the paper under the door as not to disturb her- the note simply says “The magic is in you”.

 

Written for the Creative ink photo prompt March 1st 2018

Link https://www.creativewritingink.co.uk/resources/writing-prompts/

Leave a comment